Missed us? Buy The NLP here!

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Football email

FA Trophy first round draw as National League clubs enter the fray

By Matt Bishop

The FA Trophy first round proper draw has been made, with clubs from the National League now entering the competition.

Following a weekend of exciting action in the third qualifying round, clubs from Non-Legaue top-tier will now be hoping for a cup run, but the likes of league leaders Sutton United, and struggling Leyton Orient, face difficult tests.

Paul Doswell’s men hit top-spot in the National League on Saturday after beating Guiseley 2-0 away from home, and they will host an in-form Truro City side in the FA Trophy first round.

Orient, meanwhile, are in the Trophy for the first time in their history. They slumped to arguably their worst defeat of a torrid season when they lost 3-0 to Torquay United over the weekend, and Haringey Borough will be confident heading into their all-London affair.

Trophy holders York City secured a safe passage into the first round after they overcame Coaville on Saturday, winning 3-1, and they face a trip to either Boston United or Kidderminster Harriers in the next round.

Ties in the first round will take place on Saturday 16 December 2017, with winning clubs collecting £6000 from the competition prize fund.

1 Solihull Moors v Tranmere Rovers
2 Blyth Spartans v AFC Telford United
3 Boston United or Kidderminster Harriers v York City
4 Chorley v Marine
5 FC Halifax Town v Macclesfield Town
6 Spennymoor Town v Gainsborough Trinity
7 Chester v AFC Fylde
8 Wrexham v Harrogate Town
9 Leamington v Bradford (Park Avenue) or Stourbridge
10 Lancaster City v Stockport County or Southport
11 Tamworth or Warrington Town v Altrincham
12 Gateshead v Guiseley
13 Nuneaton Town v Barrow
14 Glossop North End or Workington v Hartlepool United
15 Haringey Borough v Leyton Orient
16 Dover Athletic v Eastbourne Borough or Royston Town
17 Wealdstone or Chelmsford City v Wingate & Finchley
18 Billericay Town v Havant & Waterlooville
19 Chesham United v Weston Super Mare
20 Sutton United v Truro City
21 Woking v Maidenhead United
22 Whitehawk v St Albans City
23 East Thurrock United v Aldershot Town
24 Hendon or Slough Town v Bath City or Margate
25 Ebbsfleet United v Eastleigh
26 Hereford v Dagenham & Redbridge
27 Torquay United v Maidstone United
28 Farnborough or Hartley Wintney v Bromley
29 Braintree Town v Brackley Town
30 Taunton Town v Hemel Hempstead Town or Bognor Regis Town
31 Hampton & Richmond Borough v Kingstonian or Heybridge Swifts
32 Dartford v Boreham Wood

This article was brought to you by The Non-League Paper, the UK's best-selling football title on the newsstand, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Non-League Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Liked this story? Share it!


Related Posts

the bet calculator

betting sites in the UK

[snack_ad id="6539132" type="1by1"]