The Non-League Football Paper

Missed us? Buy The NLP here!

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Football email

National Game Awards in association with SCL: Who will win our ultimate honour?

Pic: Anthony Thompson/Pro Sport

WHILE much talk this week has centred around which one of Jamie Vardy, Harry Kane, Dimitri Payet or Riyad Mahrez will be named the nation’s favourite, we need you to pick your Non-League headline maker.

Attention has turned to the Player of the Year votes – but while in the Premier League your voice isn’t heard, at The Non-League Paper’s National Game Awards it certainly is!

When searching for the runners and riders for the Sports Shield Player of the Year, which will be picked up at Stamford Bridge on May 19, you usually need look no further than the champions.

Cheltenham Town boss Gary Johnson knows a player when he sees one. Considering the club had a total reshuffle in the summer after relegation, the boss got his signings spot on.

Danny Wright has starred with 21 goals and 11 assists, while strike partner Dan Holman has done the business for the Robins, and for Woking, with 26.

Talking of goals, Grimsby’s Padraig Amond averages one every 113 minutes – his 27 has seen him lead the scoring charts, with Macclesfield’s Kristian Dennis in close pursuit with 22.

Unsung hero

Top midfielder contributions have come from Dover’s Nicky Deverdics, with 14 and Woking’s 15-goal winger John Goddard, while there have been some notable defensive displays too from Forest Green’s Charlie Clough, Tranmere’s, Lee Vaughan and Cheltenham’s Danny Parslow among others.

It has to be said, our winner usually comes from the top tier of Non-League football but it’s not an award exclusive to the National League.

Ebbsfleet’s unsung hero Matt Godden has been a godsend for Daryl McMahon as the Kent club have led the way in National League South for most of the year. Are Sutton’s Dan Fitchett and Maidstone keeper Lee Worgan contenders too?

In National League North, captain Theo Street starred for Solihull Moors as they took the title, but maybe Boston fans think striker Dayle Southwell – who leads the scoring charts with 21 – deserves the crown?

As always, it’s down to you so get voting on one of the NGA’s most prestigious awards.

NGA 2015-16 list of awards

Sport Shield Player of the Year

Sportsbeat Young Player of the Year

FieldTurf Manager of the Year

Reusch Goalkeeper of the Year

Morrant Golden Boot

SK Kits Step 3 & 4 Player of the Year

Red Insure Team of the Year

Acerbis Cup Run of the Year

The Non-League Paper Lifetime Achievement

Huck Nets Goal of the Season

William Hill Fan of the Year

The Football Foundation Community Club of the Year

The PFA Fair Play Award

SCL Unsung Hero

How to vote

Please email ngavotes@greenwayspublishing.com to cast your vote or use #NGAvotes on twitter

This article was brought to you by The Non-League Paper, the UK's best-selling football title on the newsstand, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Non-League Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , , , , , ,

Liked this story? Share it!


Related Posts

[snack_ad id="6539132" type="1by1"]