Les Reed to lead search for new Wrexham boss

FORMER FA technical director Les Reed will aid Wrexham in their search for a new manager after the club chose not to extend the contract of boss Dean Keates.

Photo: Alamy

The Red Dragons missed out on the National League play-offs on the final day of the season and within 24 hours it was announced that Keates, assistant manager Andy Davies and first team coach Carl Darlington would be let go.

Reed, the ex-Southampton director of football and vice-chairman, has been drafted in as an advisor to the club to help identify a replacement and has provided a detailed analysis of the playing squad.

“It reminds me very much of when I first went to Southampton under new ownership in League One,” said Reed, “where the objective was to return the club to the Premier League at the earliest opportunity, while creating a sustainable business model.

“As it was then, the recruitment of players for the first team will be key to join those in the current squad who will be retained, if financial terms can be agreed.”

Wrexham say they are impressed by the quality of applicants, but apologised after being “disturbed” by the abuse potential candidates have received on social media.

Casey Stoney, the former Manchester United women’s head coach, revealed she had been targeted amid her link with the job.

The ex-England defender tweeted: “For the lovely people on here that are abusing me for even being linked with a job in the men’s game please do yourself a favour and lower your blood pressure.

“I am happily spending time with my family thank you if you have a daughter, sister, wife or mother you should be ashamed.”

Meanwhile, club captain Shaun Pearson has turned down a new contract and signed for their National League rivals Grimsby Town.

Pearson, 32, had agreed terms with the Reds but a last-minute call from his former club left him feeling he “couldn’t turn down the opportunity to return”.

Midfielder Mark Carrington has been released after nearly eight years at Wrexham along with Paul Rutherford, Bobby Grant, Jay Harris, James Horsfield, Fiacre Kelleher, Chris Sang and Theo Vassell.

Comments are closed.